top of page

You need it when? No problem!


There was a sense of urgency to a corporate communications manager’s recent request: “Do you have time to proofread this quickly for me? It’s an internal communications statement … from the president” of the company.

“Yes,” I responded from my iPhone. Sixteen minutes later the edited statement was in his in-box.

Some people panic at tight deadlines. Others just grumble about them. I remember the time at the Atlanta Journal-Constitution that I gave an artist an assignment for a simple locator map on a breaking news story. “How much time do I have,” he groused, knowing it wouldn’t be much. “Twenty-five minutes,” I replied. “Oh, a long term project,” he muttered as he trudged from my desk to his.

I enjoy tight deadlines and fast turnarounds. They still get the blood and adrenalin going. They are also something I specialize in. How could I not after four decades in the newspaper business? After all, most of those were spent as a news editor or managing editor when stories, front pages and the day’s planning could turn in an instant.

Funny how that still happens, even in the corporate world.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page